Crawford gets vote for Sixth Man

April, 22, 2013
NEW YORK -- The fact that New York's J.R. Smith won the league's Sixth Man of the Year honor should come as no surprise. It's Boston representation on the final balloting that raised some eyebrows.

Smith received 72 out of a possible 121 first-place votes while finishing with 484 points overall to comfortably edge Los Angeles Clippers' Jamal Crawford (31 first-place votes; 352 total points).

Two things jump out from the Boston perspective: 1) After a subpar regular season, former Sixth Man of the Year Jason Terry did not land on a single ballot among the 121 sportswriters and broadcasters who were asked to pick their top three choices. 2) Jordan Crawford, Boston's deadline acquisition, earned a single first-place vote and finished seventh overall in the balloting. Was it a mistake ballot for Jamal Crawford?

A Celtics player hasn't won the award since Kevin McHale (2) and Bill Walton combined to win it three straight years from 1984-1986.

Read on for a glance at the full balloting and past winners:


1982-83 Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86 Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88 Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89 Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93 Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95 Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96 Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97 John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98 Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00 Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01 Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04 Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06 Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07 Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
2008-09 Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks
2009-10 Jamal Crawford, Atlanta Hawks
2010-11 Lamar Odom, Los Angeles Lakers
2011-12 James Harden, Oklahoma City Thunder
2012-13 J.R. Smith, New York Knicks

Chris Forsberg

Celtics reporter,



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?


Isaiah Thomas
18.9 5.3 0.6 26.3
ReboundsJ. Sullinger 8.1
AssistsI. Thomas 5.3
StealsM. Smart 1.4
BlocksJ. Sullinger 0.7