Tillman, Peppers, McClellin win Piccolo

April, 23, 2013
LAKE FOREST, Ill. -- Chicago Bears cornerback Charles Tillman, defensive end Julius Peppers and defensive end Shea McClellin were announced as the recipients of the Brian Piccolo Award during a press conference Tuesday at Halas Hall.

Since 1970, Bears players have voted annually to select a teammate they feel best exemplifies the qualities of the late Brian Piccolo. The honor was originally given out to just a rookie player, but in 1992 the award was expanded to include a veteran as well.

Piccolo, who signed with the Bears in 1965 as a free agent out of Wake Forest, died in 1970 at the age of 26 from embryonal cell carcinoma.

Tillman is a three-time winner.

This marks the first time three players have been honored with the Piccolo Award since 1997.

Jeff Dickerson | email

Chicago Bears beat reporter
Dickerson has been the Bears beat reporter for ESPN Chicago since 2004. He also hosts weeknight radio shows on ESPN 1000.



You must be signed in to post a comment

Already have an account?