Final

Seahawks 28

(11-5, 3-5 away)

Falcons 30

(13-3, 7-1 home)

Coverage: FOX

1:00 PM ET, January 13, 2013

Georgia Dome, Atlanta, GA 

1 2 3 4 T
SEA 0 0 7 2128
ATL 10 10 7 330

Top Performers

Passing: R. Wilson (SEA) - 385 YDS, 2 TD, 1 INT

Rushing: M. Turner (ATL) - 14 CAR, 98 YDS

Receiving: Z. Miller (SEA) - 8 REC, 142 YDS, 1 TD

Seahawks-Falcons Preview

STATS LLC

Even with the surging Seattle Seahawks standing in the way, the Atlanta Falcons are confident they can end their recent playoff struggles.

The top-seeded Falcons look to avoid a fifth consecutive playoff defeat while the Seahawks try to continue their postseason run with a seventh straight victory in Sunday's NFC divisional contest at the Georgia Dome.

Atlanta (13-3) is 56-24 in five seasons under coach Mike Smith, but 0-3 in the playoffs over the previous four. The Falcons have totaled 441 yards and allowed 884 while being outscored 72-23 in their last two playoff contests, including a 48-21 loss to Green Bay two years ago when they also held the NFC's top seed.

Though the Falcons' playoff futility has been a dark cloud hanging over Smith's otherwise successful tenure, they believe they've learned from the past playoff.

"We're a much more mature team because of our experiences," Smith said. "I think you learn from your previous experiences in the playoffs. This is a team that has been very focused from the very beginning of the season and we've got a lot of guys who have experienced the playoff atmosphere. They're going to be able to help some of the younger guys who haven't."

Paced by quarterback Matt Ryan, receivers Roddy White and Julio Jones, and future Hall-of-Fame tight end Tony Gonzalez, the Falcons were sixth in the NFL in passing (281.8 yards per game) and seventh in scoring (26.2 points). Ryan tied Peyton Manning with a league-best 68.6 completion percentage and recorded career highs of 4,719 yards and 32 touchdowns under first-year offensive coordinator Dirk Koetter.

Ryan's teammates are confident he'll be that same quarterback and not the one who averaged 194.7 yards, threw three TDs, four picks and was sacked 10 times while posting a 71.2 rating and 0-3 playoff record.

White feels Ryan, who threw four TDs and one INT while winning at Seattle in 2010 and 2011, has "been mentally prepared throughout the whole season for this stretch run."

"He knows we have to win a playoff game," White added. "Everybody knows that, and not to put any pressure on him, but I just think that at this point in the season, everybody knows they have to play their best football right now."

White and Jones combined for 171 catches with 2,549 yards and 17 touchdowns while Gonzalez is coming off the most productive of his four regular seasons in Atlanta with 93 receptions for 930 yards and eight TDs.

Under first-year defensive coordinator Mike Nolan, Atlanta tied for fifth in the league with Seattle and Washington with 31 takeaways.

Despite his team's recent playoff history, Smith does not plan to change much.

"To me it's no different than any other game," he said. "It's 100 percent on our football team to go out and play our best. We feel like we accomplished what we needed to accomplish to get here and we are looking forward to playing against Seattle."

Though Atlanta has won three straight against the Seahawks (12-5), the visitors are filled with confidence heading into the teams' first postseason meeting.

After winning its final five regular-season contests, Seattle overcame a 14-0 deficit to snap an eight-game road playoff skid with a 24-14 victory at Washington last Sunday. The Seahawks are in the midst of their longest winning stretch since an 11-game run Oct. 9-Dec. 24, 2005.

"We haven't been as solid as we are now," coach Pete Carroll said. "We're much more solid in our thinking and mentality and just the resolve about everything we're doing."

Though the Seahawks will be without sack leader Chris Clemons (torn ACL), it was a group effort that helped them allow 15.3 points per contest, the fewest in the league. Their stout defense, which features big cornerbacks Brandon Browner and Richard Sherman, against Atlanta's potent passing attack figures to be the game's most intriguing matchup.

"I might be in the minority, but I look at it as strength on strength," Koetter said. "Heck, let's go. They've got a good defense, and we have a good offense. I know their team is running hot right now, and I know our guys are looking forward to the challenge."

While the Seahawks try to join the 1989 Los Angeles Rams as the only West Coast teams to win back-to-back playoff games on the East Coast, the Falcons don't think travel will make their opponent any less formidable.

"It's not like they're going to be going to the moon or anything," tackle Tyson Clabo said. "They have a schedule they follow when they travel and I'm sure they're going to keep it the same."

Seattle started 1-5 on the road before outscoring Chicago, Buffalo and the Redskins 97-48 to win the last three away from home. Paced by Pro Bowler Marshawn Lynch and rookie quarterback Russell Wilson, the Seahawks have averaged 223.3 rushing yards in those contests.

Lynch, who tied a franchise playoff record with 132 yards on 20 carries at Washington, has averaged 116.8 and 6.9 per carry while topping 100 yards in each of the last five contests.

Wilson threw for 187 yards with a TD and rushed eight times for 67 last week. The Falcons know they are in for a challenge trying to stop Wilson, who passed for 3,118 yards and ran for 489 while posting a 100.0 passer rating -- fourth in the NFL -- during the regular season.

Wilson threw 17 TDs and just two INTs over his final nine games, and his 116.9 passer rating since November is the league's best.

"You have to keep covering guys for a long time on the back end," said Nolan, whose defense ranked 21st in rushing at 123.2 yards per game. "That's one of the tougher things about him because when he's running around, you'd better stay with your man."

Clemons, meanwhile, wasn't the only Seahawk to suffer a season-ending injury against the Redskins. Seattle on Wednesday signed veteran kicker Ryan Longwell after placing Steven Hauschka on injured reserve with a calf injury.

Hauschka made all 23 attempts from inside 50 yards this season. Longwell, who last kicked with Minnesota in 2011, is 17 of 23 on field-goal attempts in the playoffs throughout his 15-year career.

SPONSORED HEADLINES

Passing Leaders

SeattleCMP%YDSTDINT
R. Wilson62.62897186
J. Kearse100.01700
AtlantaCMP%YDSTDINT
M. Ryan65.841122712
T. Yates75.06401

Rushing Leaders

SeattleCARYDSAVGTD
M. Lynch25611334.410
R. Wilson1067547.15
AtlantaCARYDSAVGTD
S. Jackson1866983.86
D. Freeman541993.70

Receiving Leaders

SeattleRECYDSAVGTD
D. Baldwin5666911.93
J. Kearse3752914.31
AtlantaRECYDSAVGTD
J. Jones93142815.46
R. White6676211.57

Team Averages & NFL Ranks

TEAM OFFENSETEAMPER GAME AVERAGE
Total YardsSEA
 
 351
ATL
 
 369
Yards PassingSEA
 
 189
ATL
 
 282
Yards RushingSEA
 
 161
ATL
 
 87
TEAM DEFENSETEAMPER GAME AVERAGE
Yards AllowedSEA
 
 306
ATL
 
 366
Pass Yds AllowedSEA
 
 203
ATL
 
 242
Rush Yds AllowedSEA
 
 103
ATL
 
 123

Head to Head Matchups (Since 2001)

Atlanta leads 4-3
Oct 2, 2011SEA 28, ATL 30
Dec 19, 2010SEA 18, ATL 34
Dec 30, 2007SEA 41, @ATL 44
Sep 18, 2005SEA 21, ATL 18
Jan 2, 2005SEA 28, ATL 26
Dec 15, 2002SEA 30, @ATL 24

Research Notes

From Elias: There are 12 active Falcons that have been a part of all 3 of their recent playoff losses - besides Matt Ryan - including Pro Bowlers John Abraham, Michael Turner and Roddy White.
In the victory over the Bears in Week 13, the Seahawks began a trend of using the shotgun more prominently in the offense, with 54 percent of their plays over the last five games coming from those sets (33 percent in first 11 games). The shotgun rushing game has been bolstered by the option, with the Seahawks averaging 7.8 yards on those rushes.
  [+]
Russell Wilson hasn't thrown an interception against five or more pass rushers since Week 7 against the 49ers, but he has been easier to sack. Wilson has been sacked 13 times in his last nine games against such pressure - including five sacks in the Wild Card round - after taking six sacks against added pressure in the first eight games of the season.
  [+]
Only Ryan Fitzpatrick attempted more screen passes than Matt Ryan this season. Ryan had six touchdown passes on screens, most in the NFL. The Seahawks defense has allowed only 3.0 yards per attempt and a 70 completion percentage against screens this season, both second best in the NFL.
Matt Ryan has completed 69 percent of his passes in the final two minutes of the first or second half this season, the second-highest rate in the NFL. Prior to this season, Ryan had never completed more than 51 percent of his throws in those situations.
  [+]

ESPN Stats & Information